Alan S. Michaels Award for
Innovation in Membrane Science
and Technology

Alan S. Michaels Award for Innovation in Membrane Science and Technology2020-02-07T21:22:21+00:00

The Alan S. Michaels Award for Innovation in Membrane Science and Technology, consists of a $10,000 prize and lifetime membership in the North American Membrane Society (NAMS). It is given to individuals who have made breakthrough contributions to the membrane field.

Dr. Alan Michaels was one of the true innovators and pioneers in membrane science and technology. His academic and industrial work on ultrafiltration, membrane-based drug delivery systems, and new membrane processes for the biopharmaceutical industry all represented breakthroughs that helped redefine the membrane field.

This award is given by the North American Membrane Society to honor the late Dr. Michaels and to recognize individuals who have made outstanding innovations and/or exceptional lifetime contributions to membrane science and technology.


Anyone working in the field of membrane science and technology is eligible to be nominated (except for current members of the Board of Directors of NAMS).

Application materials (submitted as one electronic PDF file)

Nominations must be submitted by a member of the North American Membrane Society. (Note: Members of the NAMS Board of Directors cannot submit nominations during their term of office). The nomination package should include:

  • a cover letter describing the individual’s contribution and its importance to the field of membrane science and technology,
  • three letters of recommendation in support of the nomination, and
  • appropriate supporting materials, e.g., list of awards, publications, books, patents, etc.

A single file nomination package in PDF format must be submitted by October 1, 2019 to the NAMS Awards Committee Chair Caleb Funk per e-mail ( Nominations will be reviewed by a panel of referees with final decisions made by the NAMS Board of Directors. An award will only be given if there is a nominee whose contributions are sufficiently significant to warrant this special recognition. All nominees will be informed of the Board’s decision by January 31, 2020, and the awardee will be recognized at the 2020 NAMS meeting in Tempe, AZ. NAMS anticipates giving this award once every three years. Questions regarding the Alan S. Michaels Award or the application process should be addressed to Caleb Funk (

All Awards Committee votes will be independently tallied by the Tellers Committee. If one or more Tellers Committee members also are Awards Committee members, all such members will be replaced by Board appointees for the purpose of validating the results of award voting only.


Dr. Andrew Zydney


Dr. Kamalesh K. Sirkar


Dr. Georges Belfort


Dr. Norman N. Li


Professor William J. Koros


Professor Donald R. Paul


Dr. Richard W. Baker